SIMCOM X Voice application

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:31 pm

Thanks Tony.

It's something I'll double check in a version I'm about to release (once I get some time to myself).

I think I know what this is already, so I'll have a double check.

I'm assuming it works ok with SCX mode ticked?

kc10b747fe
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby kc10b747fe » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:10 pm

Roo,

Thanks for the quick response,

What we have found so far is, in join or group server, once a frequency has been used, and then select a different frequency,
the previous frequency is no longer able to be retuned. (ie 123.450 - 118.750 ok, but going from say 124.400 - 118.750
frequency 118.750 will not retune), or any other frequency that had been successfully tune since the system was started.

In SCX Mode, both of our status lights show green, and both show tuned to the same freq, but we are unable to communicate.
Subsequently selecting another frequency provides same result, no contact. As with the other modes, we are not able to see
ourselves or each other in the on frequency list.

In SCX mode with simulator and auto com switch unchecked, call signs appeared on frequency list intermittently. When
both users were showing in the on frequency list, operation was normal, however when switching to another frequency, there was a delay
and then even though both showed status green and on the same frequency, neither user was in the call sign list and communication was
not possible.

Extra note, My system is running Win7, and my flying partner is Win 10.

Tony J

ATC Roo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:46 pm

V2.1.0.0 now available.

It's changed a lot!

A quick overview...
The main chage is SimCom X now has both Com radios available to use.
If COM1 is selected you transmit and receive on Com 1.
If COM2 is selected you transmit and receive on Com 2.
If COM1 and BOTH is selected then you transmit on COM1 but will hear comms from both COM1 and COM2.
If COM2 and BOTH is selected then you transmit on COM2 but will hear comms from both COM1 and COM2.

You can not transmit on both COM1 and COM2 at the same time.
If you are acting as ATC always use COM1 for your frequency and use COM2 to listen to others.

If you are connected to a sim then your squawk will show in the squawk box.

Always use COM1 as your main BOX (both ATC and Pilots), COM2 should only really be used for listening in or tuning to frequencies you know are already hosted.
If you tune to a freq with COM2 that doesn't exist, you will become the host of that frequency but nobody will join you.


As always there will be some niggles, so let me know.

TexxasAl
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:58 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby TexxasAl » Sun Nov 24, 2019 2:39 pm

Thanks for the update, sir.

Looking forward to using this quite extensively. I hate TS3 running when I'm using a flight simulator. It's like a "cheat".

regards
Al :mrgreen:

ATC Roo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:08 pm

Thanks Al.

Let me know if it's working correctly for you.

I'll be honest I didn't have much time to test the voice distance feature.

Basically if an aircraft is 100nm from you on the ground they should be quiet.
If an aircraft is 100nm away but at altitude they should still be quiet, but louder than the aircraft on the ground.

The voice quality adjusts based on distance and altitude.

Anything within 40nm of you should be normal volume.
Anything over 200nm from you wont be heard.

This allows for an aircraft 150nm away from ATC ( or another aircraft), to relay a message to another station 250nm away from ATC etc...

If that makes sense?

kc10b747fe
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby kc10b747fe » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:27 am

Roo,

I and my flying partner were finally able to do some extensive testing on the latest version with good success. We tried both SCX mode and Host and Join group server modes. Only issue we found was the auto com switch and FSX check boxes does not save after exiting or when switching between modes. Also COM 2 standby radio does not show a frequency in the app control panel, but does swap correctly between active and standby. Otherwise looks pretty solid and stable.

Great app.

Tony J

ATC Roo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:31 pm

Thanks Tony.
The feedback is very much appreciated.

The AutoSwitch, FSX and FSUIPC tick boxes not saving is intentional.
I found in earlier versions that if they remained selected with no sim running, it would cause Simcom X to slow down and eventually become unresponsive as it continually tried to connect to a sim.

I may look into it again in the future.

All the frequencies should always display in Simcom X when connected to a sim.
Even when an aircraft only seems to have one radio (Trike ultralight for example) there is still a Com2 and Com2 standby, it's just not visible to be tuned.

I'll need to investigate it a bit further, but if it still works but just doesnt display Its at the bottom of my list at the moment.

I wonder if anybody has had any success with the distance feature?
It initially worked great when I wrote it based on distance only.
I've now included Altitude and haven't been able to test it fully.

If somebody has the time to test that, that'll be great.

Finally for all the budding ATC...
If you select the ATC tickbox on the config screen and you have a valid callsign (ICAO_POS eg: KLAX_APP) the JoinFS map will show a tower symbol in green letting pilots know you're active.
If the symbol is clicked, it will display your COM1 frequency and latest METAR.
You will also display to anybody using Simcom X so they know you are available.

I added this as I know there are ATC looking for Pilots and Pilots looking for ATC.

A pilot would need the JoinFS Global tickbox ticked (unless in the same session as ATC) to be seen on radar.

ATC would need to select the Global Tickbox in JoinFS and either use the default radar, VRC or EuroScope as detailed in other posts on the forum.

I'm off to concentrate on other programs on my list so hope the above helps.

kc10b747fe
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby kc10b747fe » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:24 pm

Roo,

Thanks for the response.
ATC Roo wrote:The AutoSwitch, FSX and FSUIPC tick boxes not saving is intentional.
I found in earlier versions that if they remained selected with no sim running, it would cause Simcom X to slow down and eventually become unresponsive as it continually tried to connect to a sim.


Understand and not a problem.

ATC Roo wrote:All the frequencies should always display in Simcom X when connected to a sim.
Even when an aircraft only seems to have one radio (Trike ultralight for example) there is still a Com2 and Com2 standby, it's just not visible to be tuned.


I believe this is an indication problem only. On the previous version, standby COM 2 displayed a frequency, but did not indicate swapped when selected to active. (although in reality it actually swapped). On the current version, standby COM 2 does not display a frequency, but the app does swap to the correct frequency when selected active. (See pic)

Screenshot 2019-12-07 14.03.03.jpg
Screenshot 2019-12-07 14.03.03.jpg (147.32 KiB) Viewed 19 times


ATC Roo wrote:I wonder if anybody has had any success with the distance feature?
It initially worked great when I wrote it based on distance only.
I've now included Altitude and haven't been able to test it fully.


I'll try and test this function out on Monday with my flying partner. We usually fly formation, so we don't use that particular feature, but happy to give you some feedback. I'll let you know what we find out in a couple of days.

Thanks for the support and a great app.

Tony J

ATC Roo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:11 pm

I believe this is an indication problem only. On the previous version, standby COM 2 displayed a frequency, but did not indicate swapped when selected to active. (although in reality it actually swapped). On the current version, standby COM 2 does not display a frequency, but the app does swap to the correct frequency when selected active.


It's annoying me already, but I dont know when I'll get the chance to correct it.
It will be in the next update though.

Curious....
If you switch Com 2 again (from standby to active), does the Com2 standby correct itself?


Return to “Discussion”