SIMCOM X Voice application

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
kc10b747fe
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby kc10b747fe » Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:32 am

Hey Roo,


I got a chance to check out the latest version today, and happy to report no problems noted and all is right with the world. Great job. :D :D


Tony

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:41 am

Good stuff.

Thanks Tony.

AlphaTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby AlphaTech » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:51 pm

Hi Roo

Having more success now with SimComX on a hosted channel, but it still isn't working for me on your hosted server.

It's quite intermittent. For example, I would tune 122.700 with another person using SimComX and he wouldn't appear, but if I tune 124.500 he would appear. Then, if I try to tune another frequency to test, say 123.800 and he does the same, it stops working again.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Paul

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:48 pm

Hi Paul,

Firstly I would check that you both have the same settings.

For example if one of you is in group mode and the other SCX, you probably wont see each other.

**Group mode**
Both do the following to test.
1. Select Join Group Server from the config screen.
2. On the main screen input roo.servebeer.com into the IP box.
3. Press the ON button to connect.
4. Tune to 122.800

You should see each other.
If you don't let me know as I have just upped some security settings at my end.

**SCX Mode**
1. Both select Simcom X mode on the config screen.
2. Make sure you both have Upnp ticked on the config screen.
3. With the IP box on the main screen empty click the ON button.
4. Tune to 122.800 Simcom X should say Found in the window.
You should both see each other.

Further testing....
5. Both tune to different frequencies and wait for 2 mins.
After 2 mins your status light should have changed from Orange.
Green = You have no issues.
Red = Nobody can connect to a frequency you host in SCX Mode.

So If one of you gets a Red status light and Upnp is ticked in the config options (might need an App restart after ticking it) get the other person to tune to a frequency first.
This would mean they are hosting that freq.

Also try not to tune to a frequency at the exact same time as somebody else.
You need to give Simcom X time to read the list of users, decide that frequency doesn't exist, create the frequency and then update the list for any others to check.

It does the above fairly quickly(under 2 seconds usually) but if you were both to read the file before one of you had completed hosting the frequency, the other user wouldn't know it was hosted and you'd both end up hosting the same frequency but wouldn't see each other.

In your case I think one of you (or both) haven't got Upnp enabled on either SimCom X or the Router.

Hope that helps.

AlphaTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby AlphaTech » Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:35 pm

Hi Roo

Thanks a million for your response.

Unfortunately, it's still very intermittent for me. It's working one minute and then the next time I use it, it doesn't.

I think it might have something to do with the AUTO COM SWITCH. It doesn't appear to like it too much!

Regards
Paul

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:16 pm

Hi Paul,
Let's have a look then.

What sim are you trying the auto switch with?
Are you using it with the FSX/P3D ticked or FSUIPC ticked?

What doesn't it seem to do?
And what makes you think it's not doing it?

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:16 pm

I've just released a new version that supports the use over LAN, with no internet connection.

See if that inadvertantly fixes your issues Paul.

Let me know.

AlphaTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby AlphaTech » Sat Mar 23, 2019 5:14 pm

Hi Roo

Thanks for taking the time to look at the issue.

So, now it appears to be working, but only on unicom 122.800, in SCX.

Paul

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Mar 23, 2019 5:59 pm

Are you connecting to a sim with it Paul?
If so which sim and what tick boxes have you ticked.

ATC Roo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:25 pm

And I've just had another thought...

So a few wild guesses.

Your using P3D?
You have the FSX/P3D tickbox ticked?
You dont have the Xpack Version of Simconnect installed?
Simcom X works fine without autoswitch?

To get the Autoswitch feature working either...
Install the Xpack version of simconnect (found in the SDK folder of your P3D installation).
Or
Install FSUIPC and use that tickbox instead.

Let me know.


Return to “Discussion”