ATC with JOINFS

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:10 am

Good stuff.

I'll have to join you one day and and open a Tower in the UK for your pilots.

Glad it's fixed.

I'll post a new version when I get the time to look over it.

jopie_60
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:45 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby jopie_60 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:28 am

Good morning, my colleague flightsimmer.

It strikes me that with the new version v.2.1.0.1 you no longer want to open the "Debug" window.

Furthermore, it strikes me that in the lower left corner of Euroscope the message ESJSF is no longer visible, but as far as I can see it, Euroscope is working normally.

What is the function of "Registration Only" in the ESJFS2018 window?

Can I also ask you about JoinFS?

Are there ristrictions as father and son with two differences the machines log into JoinFS with the "seeing".

Keep smiling and healthy best friend.

Regards

Hans

ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:06 am

jopie_60 wrote:It strikes me that with the new version v.2.1.0.1 you no longer want to open the "Debug" window.


The error log file will only show errors.
The Debug window will show what is happening.

For Example: the Debug window will show when an aircraft position has been sent.
This is not an error, so will not show in the log file.

jopie_60 wrote:Furthermore, it strikes me that in the lower left corner of Euroscope the message ESJSF is no longer visible, but as far as I can see it, Euroscope is working normally.


That message should be visible when Euroscope connects.
Is VATSIM ticked in the Euroscope connection window?
It should not be.

If the scope is working as you expect, I would ignore the issue.

jopie_60 wrote:What is the function of "Registration Only" in the ESJFS2018 window?


If an aircraft has set both a callsign and Tail number in their SIM, Registration Only will show the Tail Number not the callsign on the scope.

jopie_60 wrote:Can I also ask you about JoinFS?


I'm probably not your man for most JoinFS queries.

I'd start a new post on the forum.

edakridge
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:30 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby edakridge » Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:04 pm

I use ESJFS and Euroscope when controlling my guys and have found that it works very well. I DO see the "ESJFS" at the lower left. Rather than rely on either registration or tail number, I have found that it is easier to have each player "Squawk" an individual IFF code. (Mode 3) This will show in the player's "Tag" and is easier for me to identify in a crowded environment.

ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:29 pm

I use Squawks too.
Once identified I Assume them, which then shows the callsign they are using.

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:07 pm

Hi Andy,

Trying to get this running, have downloaded your latest version, followed yor connection instructions, but see no A/C. I was talking to them in our TS.

Running ES3.2; joinFS1.4.20; windows 7.

Action as follows,
online; opened Joinfs - CIX open server; opened ESJFS; opened ES at EGKA-TWR connected as advised.
ESJFS connected with ES; Joinfs network green; nothing.
I may have a problem with ESJFS.
1. the 'panel' looks nothing like your screenshot on page1.
2 . Ihave 6 tick boxes, 2 open boxes, the one lower right closes the programme and ond titled update planes.
When connected to ES 'euroscope appears bottom left in pale green; there is a top banner showing (white on blkack 'waiting for a connection/connected. The remainder is white - no labels for the tick boxes, they change what appears to be a stau text very bottom right, but don't appear to do anything.

I did not have FSX running,

Any ideas please.

Neville

ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:46 pm

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Trying to get this running, have downloaded your latest version, followed yor connection instructions, but see no A/C. I was talking to them in our TS.

Running ES3.2; joinFS1.4.20; windows 7.

Action as follows,
online; opened Joinfs - CIX open server; opened ESJFS; opened ES at EGKA-TWR connected as advised.
ESJFS connected with ES; Joinfs network green; nothing.
I may have a problem with ESJFS.
1. the 'panel' looks nothing like your screenshot on page1.
2 . Ihave 6 tick boxes, 2 open boxes, the one lower right closes the programme and ond titled update planes.
When connected to ES 'euroscope appears bottom left in pale green; there is a top banner showing (white on blkack 'waiting for a connection/connected. The remainder is white - no labels for the tick boxes, they change what appears to be a stau text very bottom right, but don't appear to do anything.

I did not have FSX running,

Any ideas please.

Neville


Hi Neville,
Nice to see another Virtual ATCO.

I was thinking about this program the other day on how I could rewrite it to make it easier, which I will do after I'm happy with the voice apps.

I can confirm it does work as I use it now and then.
I'll have to get around to writing a small tutorial for it.

Point 1.
I changed it a lot since I took that initial screenshot, so don't worry that it looks different.

Point 2
Can you send me a screenshot?
Something definitely doesn't sound right if there are no labels.

It sounds like Euroscope hasn't connected to ESJFS at the moment.

What IP did you enter in Euroscope?
127.0.0.1 or localhost should work.

Is the VATSIM tick box in Euroscope ticked?
Off the top of my head it shouldn't be.

One of the buttons should say DEBUG and will open up a console window to tell you what is or isn't happening.

ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:26 pm

These are the settings I'm using below just now.

Image

There are only 2 aircraft on the JoinFS hub I'm connected to, so I had to zoom out to see them.

Image

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:29 pm

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the quick reply,

1. The ESJFS welcome msge did come up in ES.
2 Noted. I did not haveusername/nickname the same, now done
Thanks for your screenshot, my debug button does nothing
I got the metar to display in ES and fired up the voice ATIS ok, but it would only activate the text.
Not able to try for an A/C, nobody about.
hopefully screenshot attached

regards Neville
Attachments
ROO1.jpg
ROO1.jpg (179.85 KiB) Viewed 528 times

ATC Roo
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:46 am

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Thanks for the quick reply,

1. The ESJFS welcome msge did come up in ES.
2 Noted. I did not haveusername/nickname the same, now done
Thanks for your screenshot, my debug button does nothing
I got the metar to display in ES and fired up the voice ATIS ok, but it would only activate the text.
Not able to try for an A/C, nobody about.
hopefully screenshot attached

regards Neville


No problem.

1. If you get the message you are all working and connected, great.

2.Username/Nickname shouldn't matter, I think this will be a coincidence that it worked when they were set the same.
The callsign in Euroscope is important.
The first 4 characters MUST be the ICAO code for the airfield you are controlling.

The Debug button will only work if you click it after ESJFS has opened and before you connect Euroscope.
It was an after thought which I'll correct when I get around to a rewrite.

As you are not connected to an FSD server (like vatsim) you will notice features missing.

The voice services in Euroscope are for the VATSIM Voice servers And so will not work whilst viewing JoinFS traffic.
Although I told it to get the latest real world METAR, It will only get the METAR for your airport ( hence the callsign importance).

You won't be able to coordinate with other controllers through Euroscope and certain information will be missing from flight plans.
But the information it does show will be the latest and correct.

If you tick Global whazzup in JoinFS you will see all users.
Although those users not on the same hub as you will not update at the right interval to be controlled.
In other words they update around every 60seconds where as users on the same hub as you update around every 3-4 seconds to make for a realistic radar sweep.

Hope that helps.


Return to “Discussion”