Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
User avatar
Grumpy
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:30 am

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Grumpy » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:35 am

In answer to the original poster.

Yes, we have had a session on our hub with FSX Box and SE, XP11, P3dv4 all at the same time. With all simulators, we have established the procedure of getting the sim "up" on the ground, and THEN run JFS.
Differences? Height only, b ut we know why, all sims have established their own ground heights, and there is, afaik, nothing we can do about that, except ignore it.
Once we are all in the air, we are all at the same height!!

Ergo, we stopped worrying.

Bob, for http://www.flybywires.net

jelder
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:53 pm

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby jelder » Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:56 pm

I have been using JoinFS with a friend and we have been having a lot of problems. If we both try to fly the default Baron, one of us will get white instruments, and most of the time I see him doing circles down the runway or spinning in the air. Anyone have any ideas or recommendations as to what we are doing wrong?

Thanks.

Jim

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Peter » Tue Dec 25, 2018 10:25 pm

I've seen the white instruments, so I can repeat that. I was flying the bell 407 and played back a recording. I would be surprised if it didn't allow you to add another AI aircraft of the same type, so it could be something JoinFS is updating when it shouldn't be. Need to investigate that. The spiraling could be something similar. For example I've noticed that again with a recorded aircraft (same will likely apply to multiplayer aircraft) that the user input will also apply to the other aircraft, causing it to react in an odd way.

Peter

Marpilot
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 4:16 pm

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Marpilot » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:54 pm

Hello,
thanks for this plugin and net. It is a game changer!
For the last two days I experimented and had 3-4 exciting flights :)
Now I have some questions below.
I wonder if having labels as an option would be made?
Hard to spot GA planes, but it must be so in reality so it is OK :)
On the joinFS map I often see doubled or even tripled planes - why is that?
Also some pilots have a DEP-ARR in flight plan - how is it done?
About comms : would be great to have sound notification about messages.

Cheers :)

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby ATC Roo » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:19 am

Marpilot wrote:On the joinFS map I often see doubled or even tripled planes - why is that?


Because I haven't totally optimised the map yet.
So it adds the latest position for the aircraft, before the old position expires.

Marpilot wrote:Also some pilots have a DEP-ARR in flight plan - how is it done?


By filing a flight plan with the flight planner in FSX or P3D.
I'm not sure if Xplane has a similar feature and if it has, that Peter has gotten around to implement it yet?

Marpilot wrote:About comms : would be great to have sound notification about messages.


Or you could try Simcom X as it was built specifically for JoinFS. ;)

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Peter » Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:17 am

Yes, I think it’s missing the flight plan in X-Plane. Should be easy enough to implement that.

Peter

Marpilot
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 4:16 pm

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Marpilot » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:09 am

Thanks for the answers - will try filling flight plan in XP - never used internal ATC :) Always IVAO.

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby ATC Roo » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:04 pm

Peter wrote:Yes, I think it’s missing the flight plan in X-Plane. Should be easy enough to implement that.

Peter


Can the frequency for aircraft also be added to the whazzup.
No biggie, I just thought I'd ask whilst you were tinkering.

I've heard others ask if the user and aircraft list could be sorted in order too. Like the hub list for example.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Is JoinFS working in X-Plane 11 for anyone?

Postby Peter » Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:54 pm

ATC Roo wrote:Can the frequency for aircraft also be added to the whazzup.

I've heard others ask if the user and aircraft list could be sorted in order too. Like the hub list for example.


Shouldn't be a problem. The sorting idea has crossed my mind on occasion as well.

Peter


Return to “Discussion”