ATC with JOINFS

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:13 am

I had a quick look this morning Neville and I wasn't able to replicate the white background.

The only thing I can think of is that your system doesn't have, or won't use the color I set the background to for some reason?

So I've changed the background color of the app to a different black, to see if your system can use that.
Its the same black thats in the textbar on your picture, which does show.

The same download link as before will download the latest version (2.1.0.1).

Let me know if that helps.

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:40 am

Hi Andy,

Thanks, debug now working and repeating ' error loading wazzup locations'.

I should be able to test with traffic this evening.

colour change perfect, I suspect my system saw it as transparent.


Thanks again, be in touch,

Neville

ATC Roo
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:35 pm

neville wrote:Hi Andy,

Thanks, debug now working and repeating ' error loading wazzup locations'.

I should be able to test with traffic this evening.

colour change perfect, I suspect my system saw it as transparent.


Thanks again, be in touch,

Neville


Ah good stuff.

I'll also be on this evening.

I'll have Euroscope open in the UK and I'll be Testing SIMCOM X if you have any queries.

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:08 pm

Hi Andy,

Had an A/C on the ground and in the air, could not see him in ES, said it was connected.

Should I be pulling in VATSIM returns beyond my TWR range?, I do.

neville

ATC Roo
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:25 am

This is where the Debug option will be helpful Neville.

With Debug open it will show all the positions that have been found in the whazzup file and sent to Euroscope.

If A/C callsign isn't showing in the Debug window, there's an issue.
I'd then check it was in your whazzup.

Else if it is showing in the Debug window, it is sent to Euroscope.

Regarding range..
You will see all aircraft world wide.
If include global users is ticked you see all aircraft on the network.
If only whazzup is ticked you see only users on your hub.

I could write something in to the app that would consider the range set in Euroscope, but thought that was adding something that wasn't really needed as a user can zoom in and out.

I've got to experiment with Peters new Global feature to see how that shows aircraft.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1459
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby Peter » Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:43 am

Are the aircraft showing in the Aircraft list in JoinFS, and is JoinFS connected to the simulator?

Peter

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:19 pm

Peter,
Are you saying that in order to connect ES and JoinFS via ESJFS, I need to have FSX running?

Neville

ATC Roo
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:33 pm

If you choose the JoinFS tick box in ESJFS you don't need a SIM running.
You will need to tick whazzup.txt in JoinFS.

Settings for ESJFS2018 as below.
1. JoinFS ticked.
EsJFS2018 will read the aircraft positions from the JoinFS whazzup file.

2. FSX/P3D ticked.
ESJFS2018 will read the positions directly from the SIM using Simconnect.

3. FSUIPC ticked.
ESJFS2018 will read the positions from the SIM over FSUIPC (or XPUIPC for Xplane users).

A SIM is only needed to be run with option 2 or 3.

If no positions are showing with option 1 selected, check that you whazzup file is being populated by JoinFS.

The whazzup file is located in your Appdata/local/JoinFS folder.

neville
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:54 pm

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby neville » Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:37 pm

Hi Andy,
Thanks, ES says ESJFS displayed/data; whazzup file = 3kb, static listing of 39 servers, 2 clients, though time stamp is progressing; ESJFS = JoinFS ticked, ES green, JoinFS green Debug= rolling 'Added Metar; Error getting wazzup positions.

I havn't been able to see any A/C.

Have set up ES with adc and .prf for EGKA-ROO.

Have to go in five, but will try again tomorrow night.

Neville

ATC Roo
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ATC with JOINFS

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:44 pm

Are you using the lastest stable version Neville?
There is a problem with the whazzup in the latest stable v1.4.20.

Peter has fixed it in the test version, so assume it will be ok in the next stable version.


Return to “Discussion”