Multiplayer Voice

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1398
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby Peter » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:50 pm

I gave the above BFSGSimCom a quick try recently and can confirm it worked well. After configuring make sure you start in your specified default room for it to work.

Peter

RCFlyer
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby RCFlyer » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:04 pm

Peter:

I have installed this software, but, don't completely understand how to set it up in TS. I assume you create, within in TS, a home channel, then create sub-channels with radio frequencies. Something like this:

KOLM
135.725 - ATIS
124.400 - Tower
121.600 - Ground
122.800 - UNICOM

Or something like that? I have gotten the software installed and showing up in TS, showing the current radio frequencies set in Com1 and Com2, both primary and standby. I have looked online and can't for the life of me find any setup details. If this software works well, it could really add to the experience.

Danny

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1398
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby Peter » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:19 pm

There is a configuration window under Plugins, I think. You need to select Automove On COM retune. Select the parent room. Select Move To Untuned Channel, and again select the parent room in the bottom list. That should be it. Manually move to the parent room and you are good to go. Just change the FSX frequency.

Peter

RCFlyer
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby RCFlyer » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:31 pm

Thanks Peter. I know this isn't your software, so, I really appreciate your help.

Regards,

Danny

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1398
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby Peter » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:42 pm

No worries. It was actually someone at CIX VFR Club who discovered the right steps to follow, so thank them if anyone :)

Peter

Wood
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby Wood » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:46 pm

We use our own developed TS3 radio plugin that ties into P3D/FSX. Members do not have to be in the same channel to communicate to each other they simply need to be on the same radio frequency.
They only downfall to this is it utilizes TS3 server and client so you need to be on TS3. And we all know whether your a military wing or a virtual airline or simply just have a community to rec fly each community has there our voice server. Saying that we would like to be able to develop our plugin to the stage so that can tie in multiple TS3 servers so the plugin can be utilized across multiple servers.

At this time our plugin has been updated for our wing Client 64-bit 3.1.4 or Client 32-bit 3.1.4

Wood

ATC Roo
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:24 pm

Wood wrote: Saying that we would like to be able to develop our plugin to the stage so that can tie in multiple TS3 servers so the plugin can be utilized across multiple servers.

At this time our plugin has been updated for our wing Client 64-bit 3.1.4 or Client 32-bit 3.1.4

Wood


Now that is a good idea.

Communities hosting their own ts3 server as they do now.
But being able to contact pilots/ATC on another server via a whisper.

That means you could be general chatting to your group, whilst still in whisper contact (if you chose too) with other JoinFS users.

I did look into cross server talk.
It's not possible on Discord and it's not possible to auto switch servers with Teamspeak, but I'm not sure if you can whisper across servers.

Something to look at.

ATC Roo
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:58 pm

A quick Google and it seems you can whisper in Teamspeak across multiple tabs.

So if you have a tab for Group1 and Group2 you can listen to both and transmit on one at a time.
You would need to setup some shortcut keys to make the tab/server you want to talk on active.

Not an ideal solution as you would never know which server the other is using without asking them first.
And you can't ask them as you don't know what server they are on.


I think the ideal voice solution is something that can act like Roger Wilco.

One server.
JoinFS with the ability to act like a roger wilco client.

You tune a freq in your stack.
Every freq = a voice address (123.450 = http://voices ever.com/123.450)
If the channel already exists you connect to it.
If it doesn't you create it and others connect to it if they tune the same frequency.

I have a Wilco server I can put online.

If somebody has the Roger Wilco client code that Peter can add to JoinFS that would work.

VATSIM use that method although the have edited their RW server to only allow Vatsim voice clients.

The advantage of this is that you don't need to find each groups voice address or install additional voice clients as it's already in the JOINFS client.

You can also continue to use the voice you do now and have the extra voice from JoinFS.

Another way I can think of is as everybody has posted above (a channel switch plugin), which would require everybody connecting to the same server manually and using a Plugin to switch.

Both methods require a server/servers accessible to all.

Wood
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby Wood » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:00 pm

Hi Roo

Thanks for the reply.

A quick Google and it seems you can whisper in Teamspeak across multiple tabs.

So if you have a tab for Group1 and Group2 you can listen to both and transmit on one at a time.
You would need to setup some shortcut keys to make the tab/server you want to talk on active.

Not an ideal solution as you would never know which server the other is using without asking them first.
And you can't ask them as you don't know what server they are on.


Yes your absolutely correct... we are aware of that as we have tested with co-op missions we have done with various groups. The problem with the multiple tabs is that the tab has to be the active tab and once your there the other servers your connected to do not work until re selected. That's the next step to our plugin is to allow broadcast and listen on Teamspeak across multiple tabs.

Cheers
Wood

User avatar
JackRiordan
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:24 pm

Re: Multiplayer Voice

Postby JackRiordan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:27 pm

ATC Roo,

I've always liked using SimCom, but the last version I found that you had available was 3.1.0.1. When I download and try to install, it says it is win32 in red and I cannot install it.


Return to “Discussion”