Running JFS under Linux

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:45 pm

I've seen people here asking if JoinFS can be run under linux.
Whilst I've not run it from terminal, I do have a temporary JoinFS hub running at the moment on my laptop which runs Xbuntu.
I installed both JoinFS and the FSX XPACK Simconnect under Wine with no problems.
Feel free to use the hub and see if you can connect as normal although It'll probably only be up 24hours or so.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1454
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby Peter » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:39 am

I can't see your server in the hub list at the moment, Roo. Do you have port forwarding set up for that laptop. You may need to choose a different port if you already have another server configured for JoinFS.

Peter

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:22 am

I'll have a poke about in a mo.
I did see a few other hubs in the list when I set it up last night.
Roo.servebeer.com should get you there.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1454
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby Peter » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:29 am

It's not currently showing up with Roo.servebeer.com:6112. You probably need to configure your port forward for 6112 to your laptop.

Peter

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:50 am

I've checked 6112 is forwarded which it is.
Its the same rule I used for one of my other PCs during the Christmas session to be honest, but edited to point to the laptop IP.

And I've just given the laptop a 240V reset.

I do see other Hubs but can they see me????

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:07 pm

If anybody does see it in the list could you let me know here.
It would be nice if JFS does work under Linux.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1454
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby Peter » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:34 am

Interesting, I have an entry called "Roos Linux Test Hub", but the Last Online (which is the last time my node saw it) is 2224z last night.

Peter

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:00 am

Yup that's the one.
Although I'm not sure why it's not showing all the time?

I notice that which some hubs too.
The majority are orange even though aircraft are using the node.

User avatar
Peter
Site Admin
Posts: 1454
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:51 am

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby Peter » Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:15 am

ATC Roo wrote:The majority are orange even though aircraft are using the node.


That is likely to be that the hub has since gone offline and you're seeing the last known stats.

By adding your hub as a bookmark I can see that the port is still 6112. Are you still running your old Windows hub at the same time, or were you running it last night? I'm just wondering if it's that one that got picked up.

Peter

ATC Roo
Posts: 469
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Running JFS under Linux

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:29 am

No I have a Linux server running hidden away.
It serves various services including a webserver.

I'll have to add a couple of programs to it first like wine and a desktop as it's currently a headless server.

But my Plan is to add JFS to it so I have one machine serving everything.

I'm using my Laptop (linux) to check JFS can be used with Linux before I make changes on my server machine.

So there are no other instances of JFS running during my test.

I will fire up my windows PC (also headless) at some point to check I can connect to JFS internally, but would like to check it's available externally before I do.

The Linux Hub is up now before I go to work if anybody does see it on the list.


Return to “Discussion”