SIMCOM X Voice application

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

I've made a few tweeks which should help the PTT reverse at least.

Let me know.
DenisFerrari
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:14 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by DenisFerrari »

Good!

Ok, I guess the new version is the one I can download, right?

Done and installed it, I'll let you know once tested.

Thank you again!
NaughtyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:04 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by NaughtyGnome »

Hello!

We have a copy of SimCom X running on a server, it's not got MSFS installed on it but it's running in host mode and all the ports are forwarded.

Should we be able to connect to it? I have SimConnect installed and the voice says online on the host mode is green.

When I connect a client it also says voice green.

Just wanted to check if there is any requirement for the host to have MSFS running on the same machine it for it to work?

Thanks

Gnome
DenisFerrari
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:14 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by DenisFerrari »

ATC Roo wrote: Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:16 am I've made a few tweeks which should help the PTT reverse at least.

Let me know.
I've dowloaded the new version and - so far - no more PTT mapped button (on the A-10 HOTAS throttle) reversal.

Also, setting the Auto COM switch in the Config, I can see COM1 and COM2 indicated. I still can't see them if I do not tick this setting.

Thank you!
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

DenisFerrari wrote: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:30 pm
Also, setting the Auto COM switch in the Config, I can see COM1 and COM2 indicated. I still can't see them if I do not tick this setting.
Thanks for the feedback Denis, it's appreciated.

I'm not sure what you mean by COM1 and COM2 aren't indicated.

The displays should show ---.--- in all boxes after pressing the PWR button.

Does this not happen?
DenisFerrari
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:14 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by DenisFerrari »

Correct, the displays indicate ---.--- on both. Shouldn't this indicate the cockpit set freq's ?

They only show cockpit COM1 and COM2 freq's set if I tick the AUTO Comm Switch (or similar voice) in the Config.

Is this correct?

Thank you very much again!

Denis
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

OK, that sounds correct then.

Simcom X can be used without running a flight simulator.

If the Autoswitch is Unticked, a user can input a frequency into the STBY box and the press the switch button (in the middle of the frequency displays) to make it the Active frequency.

Somebody acting as ATC might use it this way for example.

The Autoswitch is only for users who wish to change frequency using their flight sim radio stack.

Full details of what Simcom X should do are on my website.
https://dotdash.space/simcom-x-pilot-client/

I hope that helps.
DenisFerrari
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:14 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by DenisFerrari »

Ah ok then!

I did not try yet to insert a freq in StdBy , without the sim....

Very good then!

Thank you
Denis
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

2.2.1.14 available now.

I've played with a lot of things, so I hope I've not missed anything.

I've now added a feature that I've called Nearby ATC.
It can be enabled by a tickbox in the config window.
It will also be compatible with the ATC VCCS im still working on.

If a Simcom x user acting as a pilot, flys within 40nm of a SimCom X user acting as an ATC.....
The pilot will hear a beep, will have a message displayed in SimCom X and one in their simulator (although uipc is being picky with messages, so xpuipc users may not have a message in the sim) saying which controller is active and a frequency you can contact them on.

I thought this may be handy by drumming up business for ATC and help to stop pilots accidentally flying through controlled space.
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

NaughtyGnome wrote: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:08 pm Hello!

We have a copy of SimCom X running on a server, it's not got MSFS installed on it but it's running in host mode and all the ports are forwarded.

Should we be able to connect to it? I have SimConnect installed and the voice says online on the host mode is green.

When I connect a client it also says voice green.

Just wanted to check if there is any requirement for the host to have MSFS running on the same machine it for it to work?

Thanks

Gnome
Hi Gnome,

Appologies as I've just seen this post.

Running that way is fine.

No sim is needed in order to use SimCom X and it can be used as standalone.

Roo
NaughtyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:04 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by NaughtyGnome »

Super Thanks Roo,

I am having some issues getting the system working as a server.

It's clearly a firewall issue, as if I turn off the firewall it works and I can connect to it.

However with the firewall on and a rule passing UDP packets on port 9988 to the SimComX application I cannot connect to the server.

I have noticed there is a SimCom X.exe and a Simcom X Server application as well. Which should have the packets being allowed through?

I've also noticed that there are some other UDP ports in use when checking the Processes and what ports they are using:
Screenshot 2021-01-10 113359.png
Screenshot 2021-01-10 113359.png (160.85 KiB) Viewed 142 times
Any advice or thoughts?

I am running Windows 2019 Server Standard Edition
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Try the below link
https://dotdash.space/scx/firewall.html

I wrote it a while ago, but it should help.
NaughtyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:04 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by NaughtyGnome »

Thanks,

Tried that and it didn't ask again for permission to go through the firewall.

Have re-added manually.

Any other thoughts?
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Definitely does sound like a firewall issue if you can connect with the firewall off.

Simcom X should cause windows to ask if you want to add a firewall exception on first run.
If it doesn't ask, could there be a rule still there that you missed?
Have you got another rule enabled that would interfer with the rules you're adding for Simcom X?
Block all UDP connections or another rule for port 9988 for example.

Did you enable the rule for both private and public?

This is a good site which might shed light.
https://www.osradar.com/how-to-open-a-f ... 2019-2016/

Have you forwarded a port on your router or are you using the Upnp option? Just curious.

Only UDP port 9988 is needed to be opened.

What does. netstat -an show?
NaughtyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:04 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by NaughtyGnome »

I've finally got it working, thanks for your help Roo.

There seems to be some NAT going on in a part of the network my server is connected to that I can't control.

Logging exposed the wierdness and now I've modified the rules to allow it.

Thanks again!
ATC Roo
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Post by ATC Roo »

Good stuff!

I've just released a new version after I broke it :?

Enjoy
Post Reply