SIMCOM X Voice application

Suggestions, ideas and general discussion about JoinFS.
ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:30 am

Grumpy wrote:Greetings, Roo

Josh and I are playing with SC-X

So far, we have met with limited success.

simcom X mode gives Josh this error
Image

We changed to using your server as a host.
Under NETWORK , nothing is ticked.
Under Simulator, FSX is ticked
The stuck TX and RX key is still there, changed to Left CTRL cured THAT.
Josh does NOT have FSX or any sim running on his laptop.
At this point, we have ONE working Freq, 119.400
When ever I try to change freqs, nothing. Nothing happens, still 119.400
It LOOKS like I have changed, but it LIES!!!
we have tried 123.450 NO!
122.800 NO

Apart from these few hangups, , veeery interesting.

Regards etc......

Bob


Thanks Grumpy.
All the errors are appreciated so I can correct them.

The first one I also came across early today and know what it is.
I'll fix it shortly.

Looks like I'll have to revisited the stuck TX/RX, it's now back on the list.
Curious, did it timeout after 15 seconds of being stuck TX?

The last bit seems very weird.

122.800 should definitely work, in both group and SCX mode.
I've been using that a lot to test with somebody.

I tuned to 123.450 earlier on during my testing and found somebody else there testing.
A quick radio test, all seemed fine and I was off as I was testing something else at the time.
Not sure if that was you or Josh?

How do you know your on 119.400?
Is it in the frequency box?
Or does somebody tune to 119.400 and find you there?
I know it can lie, I'm just trying to work out why it's lying.

Quass
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby Quass » Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:22 pm

ATC Roo wrote:I tuned to 123.450 earlier on during my testing and found somebody else there testing.
A quick radio test, all seemed fine and I was off as I was testing something else at the time.
Not sure if that was you or Josh?

How do you know your on 119.400?
Is it in the frequency box?
Or does somebody tune to 119.400 and find you there?
I know it can lie, I'm just trying to work out why it's lying.


That was me (Josh) on 123.450 when you popped in, we were trying to test switching frequencies but, as Grumpy said, when he hit the switch frequency button nothing happened. We did also encounter a curious case whereby once he did manage to switch to 123.450, I was not showing in his list of aircraft on frequencies, but when I switched back to 119.400 I appeared in the list. This was further complicated by the frequencies behaving as normal (i.e. we could communicate via voice on 123.450 even though Grumpy could not see me in his callsign list). I don't know if this helps?

I would point out that I didn't experience any issues with switching frequencies, so I can't provide anything further on that front, only what I could glean from our post-testing conversation.

Thanks,

Josh

kc10b747fe
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:04 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby kc10b747fe » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:36 am

Hi Roo,


I was able to do some testing this weekend and also today on the latest SIMCOMX app. I tested using only manual tuning at this time. I will try auto switching on another day and report back. Here's what I found.

1. I was able to connect all 3 of my machines on your server. I was able to transmit and receive with no problems. I was also able to see all machine names in the freq box. I did have an occasional stuck TX and RX light with both a joystick button or key selected. The lights did not time out after 15 secs and the only way to get rid of it was to shut down and restart the app. Just turning off the power button did not correct it. However it seemed like this occurred mostly on initialization when first trying to connect. When flying with a friend today, once connected and TX and RX correctly, we flew the entire flight (about a hour and a half) with me using a joystick button and him using a key, and we did not have any problems.

2. In SCX mode I was able to connect all 3 machines to 122.800 and transmit and receive. However if I switched to any other frequency, the app would crash on the machine trying to swap freq, with the same error message in my previous post.

3. I noticed in reference to the ghosting or 0 placed at the end of the call-sign, the call-sign indicates correctly on the transmitting machine and shows call-sign+0 on the receiving machine. So whatever machine I transmitted from, the call-sign on that machine always showed correct, and the receiving machines always showed call-sign+0.

4. I also tested with a friend today, and all of the above findings were consistent with the exception of seeing names in the freq box. Once connected, with both on the initial freq of 000.000 we were able to see each other in the freq box, and in the text box indicating that that person was tuned to that freq. TX and RX worked correctly. However when switching to 123.450, then transmitting, the the receiving persons call-sign would disappear in the freq box, and the "no one else is here" statement would appear, even though in the text box it showed that person tuned
to the correct freq. TX and RX still operated correctly.

5.There were some connection issues that seem to happen. For example one person being able to TX and RX, but the other person only being able to RX. To correct this, the only recourse was to have both shut down the app completely and then restarting. If only one tried restarting, the other person restarting would not see anyone in the freq or text box and was unable to TX or RX. The person that did not shut down would still show the other persons call-sign in his freq box but would not be able TX or RX. (As if the connection was still open).

6. In SCX mode between the two of us, we were able to connect on 122.800, TX and RX, but not on any other freq. Again when switching freq, we both received the error message and the app would crash.

7. In Group Host mode we were unable to connect to either of our listed IP addresses.

Questions:

8. In SCX mode does being on ATC 122.800, and being able to see each other in the freq box and being able to TX and RX, indicate that port 9988 is open?

9. When "Distance" is checked, What is the distance where the comms start to become degraded? Does "Distance" only apply if ATC is checked? and if not checked, am I correct in assuming that anyone on that freq anywhere in the world would hear the transmissions?

This app is a great addition for those of us on JoinFS who just want a simple interface to communicate on the radios without the need to install Team Speak or Discord. Thanks again for taking the time in creating it. I hope the info helps and let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Tony J

ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:10 am

kc10b747fe wrote:Hi Roo,


I was able to do some testing this weekend and also today on the latest SIMCOMX app. I tested using only manual tuning at this time. I will try auto switching on another day and report back. Here's what I found.

1. I was able to connect all 3 of my machines on your server. I was able to transmit and receive with no problems. I was also able to see all machine names in the freq box. I did have an occasional stuck TX and RX light with both a joystick button or key selected. The lights did not time out after 15 secs and the only way to get rid of it was to shut down and restart the app. Just turning off the power button did not correct it. However it seemed like this occurred mostly on initialization when first trying to connect. When flying with a friend today, once connected and TX and RX correctly, we flew the entire flight (about a hour and a half) with me using a joystick button and him using a key, and we did not have any problems.

2. In SCX mode I was able to connect all 3 machines to 122.800 and transmit and receive. However if I switched to any other frequency, the app would crash on the machine trying to swap freq, with the same error message in my previous post.

3. I noticed in reference to the ghosting or 0 placed at the end of the call-sign, the call-sign indicates correctly on the transmitting machine and shows call-sign+0 on the receiving machine. So whatever machine I transmitted from, the call-sign on that machine always showed correct, and the receiving machines always showed call-sign+0.

4. I also tested with a friend today, and all of the above findings were consistent with the exception of seeing names in the freq box. Once connected, with both on the initial freq of 000.000 we were able to see each other in the freq box, and in the text box indicating that that person was tuned to that freq. TX and RX worked correctly. However when switching to 123.450, then transmitting, the the receiving persons call-sign would disappear in the freq box, and the "no one else is here" statement would appear, even though in the text box it showed that person tuned
to the correct freq. TX and RX still operated correctly.

5.There were some connection issues that seem to happen. For example one person being able to TX and RX, but the other person only being able to RX. To correct this, the only recourse was to have both shut down the app completely and then restarting. If only one tried restarting, the other person restarting would not see anyone in the freq or text box and was unable to TX or RX. The person that did not shut down would still show the other persons call-sign in his freq box but would not be able TX or RX. (As if the connection was still open).

6. In SCX mode between the two of us, we were able to connect on 122.800, TX and RX, but not on any other freq. Again when switching freq, we both received the error message and the app would crash.

7. In Group Host mode we were unable to connect to either of our listed IP addresses.

Questions:

8. In SCX mode does being on ATC 122.800, and being able to see each other in the freq box and being able to TX and RX, indicate that port 9988 is open?

9. When "Distance" is checked, What is the distance where the comms start to become degraded? Does "Distance" only apply if ATC is checked? and if not checked, am I correct in assuming that anyone on that freq anywhere in the world would hear the transmissions?

This app is a great addition for those of us on JoinFS who just want a simple interface to communicate on the radios without the need to install Team Speak or Discord. Thanks again for taking the time in creating it. I hope the info helps and let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Tony J


Hi Tony,

As always I'll be releasing a newer version shortly with these bug fixes.
I think it might help if I created a diagram too, showing features of the app and what they should do.

The main thing that stands out from yours and Grumpys feedback is the stuck TX/RX.
I think your right with the initializing.
I think it's getting hung up on something or trying to doo too many things at once.
I'll look into that next.

Your feedback.....
1. As above TX/RX needs looking at.

2.I've just fixed this after Grumpy mentioned it.

3. This may be the Nautical Miles your are away from that user?
If it's Zero, you either both have your lat lon set to zero which happens if you have no SIM connected or you have ATC mode ticked and the first 4 characters of or callsign are not an ICAO code (Ie EGLL_TWR or KLAX_APP), or you are both really close to each other.

4. Maybe the same issue Grumpy had with the app lying to you.
Should now be fixed.

5. Possibly fixed when fixing the above.

6. As number 2, now fixed.

7. Sounds like a UDP port 9988 not open or firewall issue.

8. No.
That will still happen even with the port closed or blocked by a firewall.
I'm looking into ways for a user to check if their port is available.
It's proving an issue at the moment as the port is UDP.
I'm working on it.....

9. With the distance box ticked, you will not hear anything 200nm away or further.
190 -200 miles will be quiet.
180-170 will be a bit louder.... and so on.

Within 40nm (off the top of my head) there is no restriction.

With the tick box UNTICKED you can hear everything worldwide.

Ticked or UNTICKED you still transmit worldwide.
It's only YOUR receive that gets limited.

Hope that helps.
Last edited by ATC Roo on Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:29 pm

I'm hoping that there'll now be a message when people fire up the app.
Please let me know how it all goes.

The out of range exception should be fixed.
The Active Freq now displays the channel you're in.

The app lying to you should be fixed.
The TX/RX may have inadvertently been fixed.

ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:59 pm

And good news.... sort of.

I've just experienced the TX/RX stick.

I think/hope it's just the light sticking on and that the person isn't still transmitting, hence no timeout.

If it does happen to a somebody, can you try and check my theory.

Ie if you have a stuck RX, can you still hear the other person.
Else a stuck TX light, can the other person still hear you?

Do comms still work regardless of what the light says?

ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:06 pm

Here is an explanation of what the App should do.

https://dotdash.space/scx/

User avatar
Grumpy
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:30 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby Grumpy » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:09 am

ATC Roo wrote:Here is an explanation of what the App should do.

https://dotdash.space/scx/


Quite unashamedly copied and posted on flybywires.net web site forum.
(Plagiarism has never really bothered me!!!)

Roo, we are going to embrace this, for we can see many benefits to the flightsim community.

-.- . . .--. ..- .--. - .... . --. --- --- -.. .-- --- .-. -.-



I am old(ish) too.

ATC Roo
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:24 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby ATC Roo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:31 am

Good stuff.

I'm assuming everybody's client showed there was an update to v0.1.1.1 ?
Keep letting me know of the bugs so I can fix them.

- .... .- -. -.- ... .-.-.- / ... .... --- ..- .-.. -.. / .. / -... . / ... .- -.-- .. -. --. / --... ...-- / .- ..-. - . .-. / -- -.-- / .--. --- ... - ... .-.-.-

User avatar
Grumpy
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:30 am

Re: SIMCOM X Voice application

Postby Grumpy » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:24 am

We are now 3, Grumpy, Raymond and Stevie.

We did not get an advisory of the update from SCM X on initial start. We are using version

V0.1.0.2

Where do we get THAT version?

Still working with .0.2

After lots of buggerising about, and not actually getting anywhere, Experimentation lead us to...
shutting down JFS and FSX.
SCM X is the main form of comms.
It works, and fairly rapidly.
in the absence of FSX we tried different freqs, from 100.00 to 400.00 SUCCESFULLY
We are now running up FSX.

(what is the key mapping to use fsuipc? can you let the user allocate a joystick button to activate and control sent when button released?
We have now got simcom running, fsx and JFS running.

SCX lost connection.
See picture below.
Image

We cannot now get connection.
Is this a fault of this version?

We are trying every configuration and then...

Image

Closed every application open, restarted FSX, JFS and Teamspeak and SCX in that order.
Still nothing. Time to reboot puter.....

Saving this post.......
Restarted puter.
Only thing running is SCM X and TS.
SCM printing to its status screen ONE letter at a time, about 7 seconds between letters....

Time to cold start puter.
About that latest version... ???
See yuh.......


Return to “Discussion”